A few of my favorite things

IMG_20150822_084029IMG_20150822_141414IMG_20150823_135906IMG_20150903_141958

And when I saw a few, I mean a few.  This list is not exhaustive in any way, shape, or form.

  • I’m living with an Indian couple so I eat delicious authentic Punjabi food every other night.  I’m sure you’re jealous, and, if you’re not, you’ve probably never eaten Indian food.  Stop reading, go do that, then come back and be jealous.
  • PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION.  Yes, I had to squeeze through a crowd so tight last night it felt like being given birth to all over again, but otherwise public transportation is thebomb.com.  I mean, I hate driving and like day drinking so it’s a win-win.
  • I don’t have to wear shorts and I get to wear sweaters all the time.
  • Walking, walking, everywhere.  It turns out the physical activity I was made for was leisurely strolls in beautiful parks.
  • There are so many dogs here.  On the street.  In cafes.  Big dogs, little dogs.
  • The museums are free so you don’t have to feel bad about leaving if it’s too busy/hot/boring for your tastes.
  • Tea time: basically a built-in period during the day for snacking.  Such a good idea.  Also, a great excuse to eat biscuits.
  • If I had done this move 10 years ago, I would have only been able to keep in touch with all of my friends and family via expensive international calls and e-mail.  Skype, Twitter, and Facebook Messenger have been godsends these last few weeks.  So, as much as I generally and pointlessly rail against social media, it has finally proved it’s utility to me.  Two for you, Social Media.  You go, Social Media. (I mean, someday we’ll have teleportation devices and distance will cease to matter at all, but that’s probably going to be the weird generational thing I turn Luddite over so I won’t be able to enjoy it.)
  • I’m going to see Nicole Kidman in a play.  So… yeah.
  • The sheer multiculturalism of London has astounded me.  You think you know what that word means when you’ve visited New York (and, to a lesser extent, Washington, D.C. or Boston) but it completely surrounds everything that happens here.  You would be hard-pressed not to interact with someone from outside the UK on a daily basis.
  • Want to go to Paris for the day?  Done.
  • Donald Trump is an ocean away.  Now that’s peace of mind.
  • People know how to pronounce my name.  I have not been called Ellen/Elaine/Irene once since I’ve gotten here.

Like I said, that’s not even a full list.  hashtag blessed.

And also, since it feels a bit weird not to mention, there is a great way to donate to the refugees pouring into Europe, specifically the ones currently in Calais: purchase a sleeping bag, sweatshirt, or food item for them from this wonderful wishlist. (UPDATE: the wishlist has now been closed)

Eileen

Leave a Reply

