30 Before Thirty #22: Dyeing My Old Wedding Dress

That’s right!  I dove straight in to slaying that list.  I’ll have you know I already speak half-fluent French (French being as quantifiable as any other language can be) and finished 3 of Shakespeare’s plays.  But while some of the things on my list take time to master or execute, there was one thing that needn’t wait…

DSC00625

Do it.  Do it.

So here, in a comprehensive but in no way technical account, is how I did the deed.

1. Assemble tools.  Realize you need more tools.  Also get those tools (like gloves). (The bucket was $3 at Lowe’s)

DSC00623DSC00648

DSC00627

2. Don protective clothing to which you have little to no sentimental attachment.

DSC00622

3. Boil water.  Realize you are not going to have nearly enough water because, holy crap, that bucket is huge.  Put on more water and pray it is enough.DSC00629

4. This would be a good time to put on Radio 4, which is surely more entertaining than watching water boil.DSC00626

5. Put the water in the bucket, mix in the dye, and throw in the dress.DSC00630

6. Enlist a feline companion to keep you company while the dress soaks for 30 minutes (or more if you’re not obscenely impatient like me).

DSC00633DSC00646

7. Rinse it real good!

DSC00647

8. Try it on!DSC00652

The dress is a polyester-cotton blend, which I think is why the coloring is so different throughout.  I really like the effect, though!  The color is also nothing like I thought it would be.  I was going for a deep cobalt blue, but I think I like the lilac color even more. *cue metaphor for life*

It occurred to me afterwards that it might seem weird to keep the wedding dress after you’ve divorced, let alone dyeing it to use again.  I did some research to see what other divorced women have done with theirs.  As far as I can tell, it’s whatever they want.  I’ve gotten rid of a lot of the “remnants” of my marriage that no longer served me but I want to keep the dress.  I don’t want to entirely strip that part of my life from memory – after all, on my wedding day, at least, I was happy.  I don’t want to forget that just because the moments that followed weren’t as pleasant – if we did that, there would be nothing in life worth remembering.  I see dyeing the dress as a symbol of how far I’ve come: molded by the past, but ready for the future.

Original 30 Before Thirty post

Leave a Reply

