30 Before Thirty

While I have lifetime career and life-type goals, it’s often hard for me to condense those down into shorter-term goals that I can act on more immediately.  I’m definitely the kind of person who sees the big picture, but has a harder time with the minutiae that make up that picture.  So, as an experiment, I forced myself to sit down and actually think of things I want to accomplish or do before I’m thirty.  I was so pleasantly surprised by the results that they now hang on the cork board over my desk and, just to give myself some added motivation, to post it here!  When I complete these, I’ll be providing updates and details, of course!

(Yes, I know the first one is a little bit of a cheat… but I haven’t moved yet, so it still counts!)

  1. Move to England
  2. Write for a TV show
  3. Be paid for my writing (any amount)
  4. Have an acting agent
  5. Have a writing agent
  6. Be financially independent
  7. Contribute to retirement fund regularly
  8. Submit a show pilot
  9. Visit 5 countries
  10. Meet a panda
  11. Write with a partner
  12. Lose 40 pounds
  13. Have a regular writing gig
  14. Learn how to tap dance
  15. Learn to play an instrument (guitar, piano)
  16. Learn another language well enough to converse with a native speaker
  17. Become a published author
  18. Learn to drive stick
  19. Read all of Shakespeare’s work
  20. Perform musically in public
  21. Do stand up
  22. Dye my old wedding dress
  23. Start a record collection
  24. Have a piece of my writing performed
  25. Have a garden
  26. See a favorite musical act (Fleetwood Mac/James Taylor/Michael Buble) in concert
  27. Be roommates with a friend
  28. Attend an industry award ceremony
  29. Finally kind of figure out my personal style
  30. Ride a motorcycle
One thought on “30 Before Thirty

  1. Pingback: 30 Before Thirty #22: Dyeing My Old Wedding Dress | An American Bookworm in London

Leave a Reply

