My Top 5 British TV Shows

Fry-Laurie-a-bit-of-fry-and-laurie-17163462-431-433

I don’t have the most sophisticated taste in TV.  I always feel vaguely guilty that I don’t like gritty dramas like Breaking Bad or The Walking Dead.  But there is one thing I absolutely love: British comedy.  I still have a lot to learn, but these are my top 5 picks for anyone interested in British TV comedy.

  1. A Bit of Fry and Laurie: I still contend that this show makes everything better.  I mean, Australian Soap Opera.  That’s really all you need to know.
  2. Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace: Smart, ridiculous, made like a cheesy 80’s show.  Everything you need in a TV show.  Oh, and blood.  And Richard Ayoade as a hard-ass hospital administrator.
  3. QI: I want to watch something vaguely smart but I also want to see David Mitchell get angry about things and have Stephen Fry there as well.  That’s QI.
  4. Sherlock: There’s not much to say about Sherlock that hasn’t already been said, aside from the fact that it was gateway drug to Cabin Pressure, and therefore almost everything else on this list.  Here’s a mashup of Sherlock and Cabin Pressure for, er, science.
  5. Monty Python’s Flying Circus: Any list of this kind would be incomplete without the first sketch show I truly loved.  I once performed the Spam scene for my entire drama class (solo).

Shows that are great but didn’t make the cut: That Mitchell and Webb Look, Bruiser, The IT Crowd, Call the Midwife, Spaced, Jeeves and Wooster, Miranda, The Vicar of Dibley, Blackadder

A great resource for discovering new shows is the British Comedy Guide, specifically their list of the Top 50 British Sitcoms.  It’s a good jumping-off point if you’re not sure where to start.  I can’t wait to discover even more when I move!

Leave a Reply

