Into the Woods

MV5BMTY4MzQ4OTY3NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjM5MDI3MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_

When my brother got two tickets to see an advanced screening of Into the Woods and offered the second to me, I was shocked. I mean, I talk about it nonstop and squeal every time the commercial plays on TV, but who knew teenage boys could be so perceptive?

I should start off by saying I have never seen the original musical performed on stage, unless you count a college theater class on a TV the size of a postage stamp and sounded like all of the actors were underwater – and only the second half.  I picked up the cast recording a few months before it was announced that a movie was being made and fell in love immediately. (I should also warn you I’m not a professional critic but I fear that will become apparent by the end of this post.)

The casting is perfect in an “I couldn’t quite believe it until I saw it” kind of way.  They were able to preserve most of the songs, although my favorite, “No One is Alone”, got chopped up a little weirdly.  The “Agony” sequence was magical and perfect and everything I had hoped for.  Chris Pine should have been in a 90’s boy band.  And Emily Blunt can sing!  I also have to give a shout out to my girl, Anna Kendrick, for simultaneously being from Maine and kicking musical ass.

This is one of the few films I’ve seen this year that I genuinely loved and I’ll probably be buying it as soon as it comes out on DVD.  If you get a chance to see Into the Woods, take it.  If you don’t, make it!

Into the Woods comes out in the US on Christmas Day.

I’m off to St. Augustine today.  Hopefully I’ll get some lovely pictures to share!

Eileen

Leave a Reply

